Members depart parliament as election looms

It’s not unusual for MP’s to announce their retirements with an election just around the corner – when the Howard Government left office 13 of its MP’s retired and 15 MP’s retired from the Rudd/Gillard Government in 2013.

At this stage three ministers have announced their retirement: Kelly o’dwyer from Victoria, Michael Keenan from WA and Senator Nigel Scullion from the NT. There may be more in the coming weeks, with all eyes Craig Laundy from NSW and Former Foreign Affairs Minister Julie Bishop.

There are also several Labor retirements including Kate Ellis, Jacinta Collins and Jenny Macklin, the mother of the house.